Home is Where we Hook-up

September 30, 2006

Garage sales of the year

Filed under: Travel in the U.S. — Heligypsy @ 9:55 am

Keith and I take Zoe for a swim in Lake Mead at least four or five times a week, yesterday (Saturday) was one of those days. It’s all very routine – she jumps in her crate in the truck and whines (with anticipation, we think?) for a better part of the 5 mile trip. Well, yesterday I was the one doing the whining……as we rolled down the Hwy 93, passing the ever expanding housing tracts I spotted a road sign with an arrow – advertising the Lake Mtn. Garage Sale. No question about it, I knew what I would be doing this morning. Keith can’t help but ask me,

“What is it that we would need from a yardsale?”

I am ready for the question and always have a few items that, while they don’t qualify for the need list, are on the list of useful items I would not pay retail for. I usually find what I am looking for – and enjoy the rush of scoring bargins, aw heck, maybe that’s what the need is.

I was completely unprepared for Saturday’s yardsale, I didn’t get started until after 9:30 a.m. I followed the traffic into the tract, and like a good little lamb ended on a street that seemed a garage sale goldmine – no less than four houses with open garages and people pouring in and out. The first house I shopped was already doing a 25% reduction on all items, that made me laugh. This is where I met DeeDee, a cute little service dog (breed unknown) wearing a sign around her neck “NOT FOR SALE” another laugh -off to a good start this morning. I mentioned to DeeDee’s owner that I was looking for a silverware box and she quickly got the attention of her husband and asked “someone here has a silverwar box, don’t they?” I perked up at the question, he agreed he thought he’d seen one at one of the sales – a glimmer of hope for me! Then she asks,

“Would you like a map?”

A MAP?? Ummm, yeah, ok, a map’ll do just fine, thanks. I take hold of this 8×11 paper designating the entire tract and showing in color were the houses participating in this annual garage sale. Counted ’em up- there were 45 sales going on. Oh, yeah, pay dirt!

I sifted through other people’s junk for the better part of the morning, and into the afternoon. What bargins did I find, and did I score the silverware box? One lady admitted that she had just sold a lined box within the last hour. Another man had an antique box including sterling silverware for sale, but it was not what I was looking for (he did start cleaning the silver after my interest…..) So, no luck on the box. I did find a small piece of luggage – never used – that will be perfect for an upcoming trip to Dallas this month – walked away with it for .50 cents. Picked up a book on “Hidden Mexico” for a quarter and even that was only after the old guy sitting in the driveway said to me “You have to buy SOMETHING!” For all the entertainment I get from eavesdropping and people watching it was the least I could do, ha ha ha.

More stories on the way…………………………..

2 Comments »

  1. I love garage sales and flea markets. Great bargins 🙂

    Comment by JennH — October 5, 2006 @ 4:49 pm | Reply

  2. Paula; You and Jo are cut from the same cloth, she loves garage sales and thrift stores. We are in the process of remodeling our kitchen, instead of taking a cruise for our 50th anniversary in Feb.15th
    Love Bob & Jo

    Comment by Uncle Bob — October 6, 2006 @ 9:07 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

