Home is Where we Hook-up

October 31, 2006

Happy Halloween

Filed under: Travel in the U.S. — Heligypsy @ 4:40 pm

I almost can’t believe it, today is October 31st, Halloween. Keith and I took Zoe to the lake this morning and giggled about wading around in bath temperature water – and it’s almost November! (Ok – Keith wasn’t really giggling…do I have to clarify that?) I’m not mentioning the gorgeous warm and sunny day to rub it in to any of you experiencing bad, nasty, cold, windy, rainy weather. I’m just stoked that we are here in the land of sunshine, hallelujah!

We are confident that we will not have any ghosts or goblins knocking on our trailer door tonight – so we are hitting the town to brave a haunted house. I have been wanting to go to a haunted house for years, please don’t ask me why, I really am a scardy cat, biggest chicken of them all – and yet….I can’t wait – I’m scared already!

In our last post, I mentioned that we’d flown from Boulder City to Fresno – an overnighter trip. I really should learn to send the dog to the kennel with more than just one day’s food – I know an overnighter is rarely any less than two or three days minimum, ha ha. We managed to spend a little bit of time in Bishop – for the most part (weather permitting) it’s enroute.

mom-paula-resize.jpg

Flying over the Eastern Sierra’s is amazing, something I’ll never get tired of. We crossed the range just one day after a fresh snow. Gorgeous.

keith-at-pitstop-resized.jpg
I even managed to cross off one thing on my list of “things to do before I die” Since in my mid-twenties, or should I say, from the time I stopped hating everything about this little town I was forced to live in, and began to appreciate my good fortune of being raised in such a pristine and special region, I’ve wanted to climb to the top of Mt. Tom.

Image hosted by Webshots.com
Imagine the luck of flying over the top of this mountain of my dreams. My first thoughts as I noticed the switchbacks lightly covered in snow, traversing the back of the mountain were that I was going to get a birds eye on the best way to climb this mountain in the future. As we closed in, I realized those switchbacks, well, they just petered out – they do not in fact go all the way to the top. This concerned me, but not nearly as much as Keith telling me

“I don’t have enough power at this altitude to land”

With my left hand firmly jammed against the door, practicing breathing and trying to talk in normal tones through my teeth, I agreed that was fine, no problem, wouldn’t give it a second thought. From where we hovered over this jagged topped pile of rock, I couldn’t imagine where in the world he would set down, and I was terrified.

As we decended into the valley below, I sighed with relief, I am SO OVER my need to climb Mt. Tom – cross ‘er off the list! And boy wasn’t I glad to have found out this way, rather than spend an entire day hiking, only to find out that unless you have serious climbing gear – there’s no way to reach the top. Bust!

3 Comments »

  1. Hey! I finally was able to sit down and read your little blog and really enjoyed it! Do the two of you realize how lucky you are to be enjoying life and all it has to offer the way you are? Lucky! Lucky! Lucky! Good to know you are having fun and that Zoe is still keeping you entertained! Have a good one and thanks for all the fun info! I still miss ya however!!!
    Love ya,Bon

    Comment by Bonnie ;-) — November 4, 2006 @ 8:43 am | Reply

  2. Hi Paula,
    Andrea Kalli here in Aurora, Colorado. Remember me from the VA Conference? I thought I would take the time and let you know that I’m an avid reader of your blog and I’m so happy you’ve started doing it. I love hearing about your trips and looking at your Webshots pictures of the great places you’ve been too. Keep up the great posts! I’ve finally moved my entire website to a new hosting company just so I could get a WordPress.org blog for my business. Right now the RSS feed is not working, but at least you can view it at http://www.virtualassist.net/blog. My posts aren’t nearly as fun as yours though….99% business stuff and 1% not. Well, I best get to doing my weekend stuff. I have a few more bulbs to plant, now that the weather has warmed up to 60. Talk to you later…and don’t be a stranger!
    Andrea from Colorado

    Comment by andreakalli — November 4, 2006 @ 10:54 am | Reply

  3. Wow! You’ve got a great blog here! Thanks so much for sharing the link…I’ll be stalking you regularly from now on.

    Glad you enjoyed dinner at the Green Valley Ranch. I think what I enjoyed most was all the networking I was able to do while I was there.

    Comment by Jennifer Gniadecki — November 5, 2006 @ 8:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

