Home is Where we Hook-up

June 20, 2007

Summer travel begins

Filed under: Travel — Heligypsy @ 8:50 pm

My time in Bishop always seems to fly by so fast – I never seem to have the time to write and share like I plan to. I guess it’s always good to get away from the computer for awhile. While “home” I did all my favorite things – and then some. We arrived in town on the Friday of Memorial Day Weekend, which in Bishop is the annual Mule Days Celebration. We toured the Arts in the Park, perused the wares and chatted up old friends, a great way to kick off a two week visit. Swimming at Keough’s Hot Springs is always at the top of my list, I learned to swim in this unique pool as a toddler – the years and health regulations have changed things just a bit, but it’s still a special place.

This year we managed to make it to a fund raiser for the Lone Pine Film Museum, Concert in the Rocks as this link suggests, the setting was ideal (though R.W. continued to harass the organizers about “even the Full Moon is late in California!” – it didn’t rise until after 11 p.m that night, we were well on our way home by then)

We walked the canal with Zoe, took drives up to the mountains, went shopping in Mammoth (which was a bust of a shopping trip, but great for lunch and a nice walk around the earthquake fault), had meals with family and friends and in general just got a nice “re-charge” on for the upcoming summer of travel.

My friend Patty drove Mom and I to L.A. on Monday, where we stayed the night to catch our early flight to Greece on Tuesday. It is Thursday morning 6:30 a.m here in Athens, Mom and I have both been up long before the sun (which is just now rising). After this trip, I told my Mom that from now on I am ALWAYS traveling with her. The SkyCap personnel whisk her away in a wheelchair, put her in the front of any and every line, breeze through security, and get her settled on the plane at the head of the pack. I follow along with carry-on luggage and a big grin on my face, this is all WAY too easy!!! Still made for a long day, but it really was an easy day of travel.

I suspect it will be a day or two before we start stepping out on our adventures, going to take time to familiarize with the neighborhood and all that, and then I will try to keep our adventures and pictures posted.

1 Comment »

  1. your blog has lots of useful information.
    I just started blogging a while ago and it feels great.

    Comment by jenny — September 17, 2010 @ 1:48 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

