Home is Where we Hook-up

July 26, 2007

Way to save a bad week…

Filed under: Travel,Travel in Europe — Heligypsy @ 2:09 am

Things were not off to a smooth start for us this week, from the very beginning. Monday morning Keith called and said to me,

“I just wanted to tell you, in case you see it on the news, one of the Ducks crashed this morning – both pilots are dead. The news is showing footage of the Crane, and then the wreckage, and I didn’t want you to think it was us.”

And he was right. News reports were running a loop, footage of the Crane and the Ducks (there are four Canadair planes here) on a fire, and then panning down to smoldering wreckage, explanations all in Greek. Devastating, just devastating. I’m filled with enormous relief that Keith is safe – at the same moment I have such heartbreak for the survivors of the two pilots. The next day another Duck crashes in Italy, two more fatalities. A third crash report comes through our web news, this one in the States – just outside Klamath Falls and Happy Camp. Kathryn, you have to know I was holding my breath when I read the words Happy Camp…and the conflict is very slight within me that I was, again, filled with major relief not to read Wade’s name…still I am heartbroken for Dennis’ wife – doesn’t matter that I don’t know her.

So, it’s been a tough week of in-your-face, “this work is dangerous” and “life is short” sort of soul searching and renewed perspectives. It’s the sort of week that really gets me thinking (A LOT) about what’s important and what matters. I don’t worry about Keith each day he goes off to work, and he and I make the very most of each day we have to spend together when he is not working. I think the two of us do a pretty darn good job of appreciating all that we do have, right here right now.

This week also marked the passing of one whole year since my dad died. To be specific, it would have been about 365 days and 2 hours ago (10 pm PST July 25th). I don’t really think of that as an extra factor to the bad week thing, it just is what it is. I think of him so often, with smiles and good memories – remembering him always feels so good to me.

Alright, so, any idea how a person might be rescued from a tragic an emotional week such as this? Keith and I had just the solution – he and I really are two very lucky people…Continue on to the next post for a follow-up of happier times…

2 Comments »

  1. WOW, you two, what a tragedy. I am so thankful that it was not Keith and that you two are safe. I havent been the best web-pal lately, but reading this was very real and brings life back into perspective. I will pray for your safety each and every day and know that you two are in my thoughts as you work in this dangerous field that Keith loves so much.

    P.s I can not believe it has been one year since you lost your father… time sure does fly.

    Take care…
    Kimberly

    Comment by Kimberly — July 26, 2007 @ 12:12 pm | Reply

  2. I don’t have any words of wisdom for your difficult week, just sending a virtual hug and am glad the two of you are safe.

    Comment by JennH — August 4, 2007 @ 1:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

