Home is Where we Hook-up

December 24, 2007

Meeerrrryyy Christmas!

Filed under: Holiday,Travel,Travel in Central America — Heligypsy @ 9:42 am

Well, it’s finally here, ready or not, believe it or not…tomorrow is Christmas. I am ready, but I don’t know if I believe it. Yesterday Keith and I took a water taxi to Caye Caulker for the day and did a bit of snorkeling along the reef. A little band of storm clouds rolled across the island, dropped a tiny bit of rain, and kept on moving. We laughed with the other snorkeler in our party, a woman from Missouri, about the insignificance of the threatening clouds – and shudder to think about some of our friends and family enduring the cold, wet and snowy winter.

I am ready for tomorrow, because it is going to be one of the more simple Christmas’s we’ve had. I baked the other day – well, to be more exact I “no-baked” something about running the oven when the a/c is already having trouble keeping up with the heat didn’t seem very fun. I followed four no-bake-em cookie recipes, and have been handing out plates of cookies to all the people here at the Marina – the guys in the office, the guy who opens and closes the gate, the real-estate guy who helps us with our paperwork, a couple of other campers here, and Keith took a plate for the armed security guy at the Police check-point on his way to work. I’ve put a smile on these faces and that has been so totally gratifying. Keith and I will likely spend the day tomorrow snorkeling again, we could both spend all day swimming the reef, it’s been fantastic.

I think I’d like to spend a Christmas sometime doing the traditional “White Christmas” thing – meaning we will have to take a vacation from the tropics and go to a ski resort or something. We’ll see.

For now, you have our Tropical Merry Christmas wishes. We hope you have a fantastic day, we will be thinking of you.

1 Comment »

  1. Merry Christmas to you both. The cookies sound yummy! I wish I was there to wear off a few thousand calories snorkeling with you guys.
    Happy HolidaZe
    xo

    Comment by Sherry — December 25, 2007 @ 1:12 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

