Home is Where we Hook-up

January 11, 2008

The Passing of Friends

Filed under: Travel in the U.S. — Heligypsy @ 8:59 am

I have reached the point in my life where I attempt to make grand efforts not to take anything or anyone for granted. I’m bemused to reflect on the impact people have on me, and I on them – whether either of us are aware.

Last night I was informed that my dads friend, Lynn had passed away. Lynn and his wife Elene moved to Boise, ID several years ago, to be near their son, Morgan. I think the last time I saw them was a chance meeting in the grocery store when both of us were visiting Bishop. Surely, even though it would have been a surprise meeting, Lynn would have said to me,

“Heya Blondie. How ya doin’?” He always said this. And I always flashed a big dimple smile and told him “I’m good. How ’bout you?”

Lynn was a machinist and metal fabricator, which is how he and my dad came to be friends. Every Friday night, the Bishop men in the business would get together and have “Safety Meetings”. The word OSHA would come up on occasion, in between 6-packs of Coors and Bud. Even as a little girl, I loved to hang around the men during the Safety Meetings listening to their stories, their intricate details of working with metals, fixing and building, fish tales (tall and otherwise) and of course, enduring their endless harassment. Lynn could sure get my blood boiling, and grin and tease throughout the newest tantrum he was responsible for. Safety Meetings continued in my dads shop until he sold in 2000, nearly 30 years worth of Fridays – solving the worlds problems and bonding with one another.

Lynn was a long-time family friend, but he was my friend as well. I am sorry he is gone, and am grateful to have known him.

Keith and I tried to look his obituary up online last night, and while Lynn’s has not been published, there were other’s there that stopped me cold.

Roy Hood, 58, a good friend of mine from back in the days of living across from Whiskey Creek. I would go to the bar after work (or after Friday’s Safety Meetings) and could count that Roy would be there. He was soft spoken, funny and a great musician.

Christy Rawlings, 36, a good friend from my youth. Sitting here, thinking about all the years that have passed since we have seen one another, I can STILL hear her laugh, loud, honest and musical. How young and innocent we were “cruising” Main Street and hanging in the Burger King parking lot.

Lorelei McMurry, 46. I knew her as Lori – a next-door neighbor growing up. They moved decades ago, but you know, she and her family, her brothers and parents still come up in conversation. I can’t picture her, but I can remember playing over at her house.

My mom told me the other day, she is going to stop taking the Inyo Register newspaper. We laughed about how my dad used to say “The only reason I still get the Inyo Register is to check the obits and make sure I’m not in ’em.” Ahh, but then he was – and so are lots of other people her age that she has known for some 40 odd years. I agreed with her, time to cancel that subscription.

I said to Keith after hearing the news of Lynns passing,

“They’re just all dying!” To which he replied, “All the more reason to live while you can.”

R.I.P Lynn, Roy and Christy. The memories of you are safe with me, my friends.

4 Comments »

  1. Dang. I’m sad to the news of Roy’s death. What a neat guy he was. It seems odd now, to feel so sad about someone I haven’t thought of since I left Bishop, but he was part of what made living there special. I can remember plain as day (oddly enough, as I know I wasn’t sober) one night when you got up and sang with him, though it wasn’t a kakraoke night 😉 Good natured and gentle, he was the kind of guy you didn’t have to be on intimate terms with to think fondly of.

    I remember the infamous “Safety Nights”. Your dad was a hoot.

    Comment by Patti — January 14, 2008 @ 2:34 pm | Reply

  2. I should have added, I agree with Keith.

    Comment by Patti — January 14, 2008 @ 2:36 pm | Reply

  3. So sorry to hear of the passing of your friend.
    It certainly makes you aware of how precious life is.
    We too,had news of a friends death the other day. Greg owned the Company that Jeff finished his Aircraft Engineering ticket.
    You have to take the good things life has to offer, while the chance is there.
    Some times there is only that one chance.

    Comment by Pip Zuill — January 15, 2008 @ 8:05 pm | Reply

  4. Sorry to hear about the passing of so many friends. Amen, live while you can.

    Comment by JennH — January 22, 2008 @ 7:50 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

